Relaunch of the EU-Catalonia Dialogue Platform

Over 20 MEPs have participated this Tuesday on the relaunch of the European Union-Catalonia Dialogue Platform on the new legislative term, representing 9 different member states and 5 parliamentary groups.

“This is a platform for dialogue, but to stablish a dialogue two are needed, and so far, the Spanish authorities did not accept the offer for dialogue that would lead to a political solution for the situation in Catalonia”, denounced former chair of the Platform Ivo Vajgl.

Vajgl also insisted on the right of the three Catalan MEPs-elected that have not been able to take their seat (Carles Puigdemont, Oriol Junqueras and Toni Comín): “We should protest and ask the European institutions to repair this damage, which is a damage to democracy itself”.

François Alfonsi (Greens-EFA), Christian Allard (Greens-EFA), Martina   Anderson (GUE-NGL),  Pernando Barrena (GUE-NGL), Izaskun Bilbao (Renew Europe), Benoît Biteau (Greens-EFA), Geert Bourgeois (ECR), Milan Brglez (S&D), Matt Carthy (GUE-NGL), Leila Chaibi (GUE-NGL), Clare Daly (GUE-NGL), Petra De Sutter (Greens-EFA), Jill Evans (Greens-EFA), Kateřina Konečná (GUE-NGL), Marisa Matias (GUE-NGL), Aileen McLeod (Greens-EFA), Diana Riba (Greens-EFA), Alyn Smith (Greens-EFA), Johan Van Overtveldt (ECR), Mick Wallace (GUE-NGL) and Tatjana Ždanoka (Greens-EFA) are the members of the renovated Platform, although it is still open and could receive new members in the coming weeks.