41 MEPs wear yellow T-shirts in the Strasbourg plenary to demand release of Catalan political prisoners

41 Members of the European Parliament wore yellow T-shirts today in the Strasbourg plenary session demanding the release of Catalan pro-independence leaders, who have been in pre-trial imprisonment for almost a year for organizing a referendum on self-determination in Catalonia

The MEPS, representatives from 15 different member states and 4 parliamentary groups, wore yellow shirts, a colour that has come to symbolize solidarity with those behind bars in Catalonia, . The shirts read messages such as ‘Free Junqueras,’ ‘Free Romeva’ or ‘Free Political Prisoners,’ specially referring to former MEPs Oriol Junqueras and Raül Romeva.

The participants, including the members of the EU – Catalonia Dialogue Platform, were: Marco Affronte (Greens/EFA), Marina Albiol (GUE/NGL), Martina Anderson (GUE/NGL), Margret Auken (Greens/EFA), Izaskun Bilbao (ALDE), Lynn Boylan (Greens/EFA), José Bové (Greens/EFA), Reinhard Bütikofer (Greens/EFA), Matt Carthy (GUE/NGL), Michael Cramer (Greens/EFA), Karima Delli (Greens/EFA), Mark Demesmaeker (ECR), Pascal Durand (Greens/EFA), Linéea Engström (Greens/EFA), Jill Evans (Greens/EFA), Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL), Rebecca Harms (Greens/EFA), Martin Häusling (Greens/EFA), Maria Heubuch (Greens/EFA), Ian Hudghton (Greens/EFA), Eva Joly (Greens/EFA), Merja Kyllonen (GUE/NGL), Sander Loones (ECR), Marisa Matías (GUE/NGL), Ana Miranda (Greens/EFA), Michèle Rivasi (Greens/EFA), Lola Sánchez Caldentey (Greens/EFA), Molly Scott (Greens/EFA), Lidia Senra (GUE/NGL), Alyn Smith (Greens/EFA), Jordi Solé (Greens/EFA), Igor Soltes (Greens/EFA), Bart Staes (Greens/EFA), Helga Stevens (ECR), Josep-Maria Terricabras (Greens/EFA), Indrek Tarand (Greens/EFA), Ramon Tremosa (ALDE), Miguel Urban (GUE/NGL), Ivo Vajgl (ALDE), Bodil Valero (Greens/EFA), Monika Vana (Greens/EFA), and Marie-Pierre Vieu (GUE/NGL).