Presentation of the EU-Catalonia dialogue platform
Presentation of the EU-Catalonia dialogue platform

26 MEPs establish the EU-Catalonia Dialogue Platform of the European Parliament

A group of 26 MEPs from six political groups of the European Parliament have established the European Union-Catalonia Dialogue Platform this Wednesday. The members, who “represent different opinions about the Catalan question”, as expressed in the founding manifesto, are “deeply concerned about the critical situation in Catalonia”. That is why they ask the European institutions “a gesture of responsibility that drives the dialogue to reach a solution in the conflict.”

  • The actions that the platform will carry out have the following main objectives:
  • Claim the release of politicians and imprisoned social leaders.
  • Apply for the annulment of article 155, by which democratically elected politicians have been dismissed and the Catalan institutions have been intervened.
  • Urge the European institutions to take part in the conflict to find a solution, which has a clear European dimension.
  • Insist on the need for a negotiated agreement between the Spanish State and Catalonia that will have to conclude in an agreed referendum.

Likewise, the platform has directed two letters to the presidents of the European Parliament in this legislature, Martin Schulz and Antonio Tajani, in which they are asking them to publicly express their views on the fact that two ex-MEPs, Oriol Junqueras and Raül Romeva, are imprisoned, and they are encouraged to ask for their release, as well as the release of the other jailed ministers and the grass-roots leaders Jordi Sánchez and Jordi Cuixart.

The MEPs who have been added from the first moment on this platform are: Martina Anderson (GUE / NGL), Izaskun Bilbao (ALDE), David Borrelli, (EFDD), José Bové (Greens / EFA), Lynn Boylan (GUE / NGL), Matt Carthy (GUE / NGL), Mark Demesmaeker (ECR), Jill Evans (Greens / ALE EFA Tanja Fajon (S & D), Eleonora Forenza (GUE / NGL), Ian Hudghton (Greens / ALE EFA Josu Juaristi (GUE / NGL), Sander Loones (ECR), Liadh Ni Riada (GUE / NGL), Lídia Senra Rodríguez (GUE / NGL), Jordi Solé (Greens / EFA), Igor Soltes (Greens / EFA), Barbara Spinelli / NGL), Bart Staes (Greens / ALE), Indrek Tarand (Greens / EFA), Josep-Maria Terricabras (Greens / EFA), Ramon Tremosa (ALDE), Ivo Vajgl (ALDE), Bodil Valero (Greens / ALE) Marie-Pierre Vieu (GUE / NGL), and Tatjana Zdanoka (Greens / EFA).

The platform is still open and could receive new members in the coming weeks.